- 1 When can you hunt deer in South Carolina?
- 2 What hunting season is it in SC 2020?
- 3 What can I hunt right now in SC?
- 4 Do you need a hunting license to hunt on your own land in SC?
- 5 Can I shoot my gun on my property in SC?
- 6 How many deer can you kill in a day in SC?
- 7 Can you hunt on Sunday in SC?
- 8 How close can you hunt to a house in SC?
- 9 Is it legal to shoot squirrels in SC?
- 10 How much are deer tags in South Carolina?
- 11 How much does a hunting license cost in South Carolina?
- 12 Can you bait deer in South Carolina?
- 13 Can a game warden come on private property in South Carolina?
- 14 How close to a property line can you hunt?
- 15 Can a felon hunt in SC?
When can you hunt deer in South Carolina?
Legal hunting time for deer is the time between one hour before official sunrise until one hour after official sunset (50-11-710). In Game Zones 1 and 2 it is unlawful to pursue deer with dogs (50-11-310).
What hunting season is it in SC 2020?
Deer, Bear, Alligator, Turkey Hogs plus a range of small game and game birds.
Deer Hunting Season.
|Hunting Category||Hunting Season 2019-2020*|
|Deer (Firearms)||Oct 11-16 and Oct 31-Jan 1|
|Deer (Primitive Weapons)||Oct 1-10|
|Deer (Bow)||Sept 16-Dec 21|
|Deer (Youth)||Aug 10 – Sept 14, Sept 28 – Jan 4|
What can I hunt right now in SC?
Species Specific Hunting Information
- Deer. Deer Tag Information. Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)
- Migratory Birds including Waterfowl. WMA Waterfowl Hunt Results for 2020-2021.
- Small Game – Includes: Beaver, fox, opossum, rabbit, raccoon, squirrel, other species.
Do you need a hunting license to hunt on your own land in SC?
Licenses and permits are required for hunting in South Carolina. All residents and nonresidents born after June 30,1979 must successfully complete a hunter education course that is approved by the SC Depart- ment of Natural Resources (SCDNR) before a hunting license can be obtained.
Can I shoot my gun on my property in SC?
First of all it’s not illegal to shoot your weapon on private property. Second it does not matter the time of day. Third the police were called about some other matter by another member of the family and the shooters were in a different part of the property ane may not have known that the police were called.
How many deer can you kill in a day in SC?
The statewide limit on antlered bucks using personal tags is 5 for residents and 4 for non-residents. In each case, 2 of these bucks must have at least 4 points on one antler or a 12-inch inside spread. Daily limit of 2 for antlered bucks or antlerless deer using personal tags for residents and non-residents.
Can you hunt on Sunday in SC?
On private lands statewide, Sunday hunting for all game is legal.
How close can you hunt to a house in SC?
When hunting with a firearm in South Carolina, you must be 300 yards away from a residence when less than 10 feet above the ground. This law was passed in response to complaints about hunters hunting too close to houses.
Is it legal to shoot squirrels in SC?
Section 50-11-110 – Small game defined. Section 50-11-120 – Small game seasons. Section 50-11-140 – Taking raccoons, opossums, squirrels, or fox during period they can be hunted without weapons.
|Duration||Type of License||Price|
|Season||Individual Antlerless Deer Tags* (Optional)||$10.00|
|Season||Unrestricted Antlered (Buck) Deer Tags*||$50.00|
|Season||Unrestricted Antlered (Buck) Deer Tags*||$20.00|
|Season||Restricted Antlered (Buck) Deer Tags*||$20.00|
How much does a hunting license cost in South Carolina?
South Carolina Hunting & Fishing
|Privilege Fees July 1, 2020–June 30, 2021|
|Privilege Type||Duration||Non Residents|
|State Hunting License||Annual||125.00|
Can you bait deer in South Carolina?
Act 2 of the 2013 South Carolina General Assembly removed the prohibition on baiting for deer on private lands in Game Zones 1 and 2. Therefore, baiting for deer is no longer prohibited on private land anywhere in South Carolina. Baiting or hunting over bait remains prohibited on WMA’s statewide.
Can a game warden come on private property in South Carolina?
They DNR CAN come onto your property with probable cause ( hear a shot, someone told them you were poaching, whatever) but they CAN NOT simply overrule the constitution and your right to own property and go where ever they want when they want.
How close to a property line can you hunt?
Unless you’ve gained permission to do so, absolutely not. It doesn’t matter if the animal is 1 yard or 500 yards from the fence. It’s not OK. Plus, if you’re firearm hunting, shooting across the fence into unknown territory could harm others or their property.
Can a felon hunt in SC?
The question of whether a person with a felony conviction or a CDV conviction may hunt with a muzzleloader in South Carolina implicates both state and federal law. Federal law prohibits a person who has been convicted of a felony, or a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, from possessing a firearm.